Clean Eating

Clean eating isn’t just a health kick or a random phase. It’s a lifestyle. It doesn’t happen overnight either. I first started  “clean eating” about a year or two ago. Since I’ve lived with food allergies my entire life, I’ve always had to read labels. It wasn’t until recently though that I realized I had no idea what the majority of the ingredients in my food actually were!

I started out slowly by trying to eliminate high fructose corn syrup, artificial sweeteners, hydrogenated oils, palm oil, foods with more than 15 ingredients, and anything deep fried. I did my best, but I made exceptions all the time. Gradually, I started adding more “rules” and got better at following them. I still make exceptions and have off days, but I do the best I can and try to make improvements to my lifestyle each and every day. Below is a list of what I personally deem unclean and clean.

Unclean:

  • Hydrogenated oils
  • Palm oil (environmental reasons)
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Fried foods
  • Artificial colours and flavours
  • Preservatives
  • Cellulose
  • Food with more than 10-15 ingredients
  • Artificial sweeteners
  • Soda
  • Juice

Clean:

  • Fruits and veggies
  • Lean meats
  • Real cheese
  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Natural peanut butter
  • Fish
  • Greek yogurt
  • Low fat/ skim milk
  • Hummus
  • Seeds
  • Dark chocolate
  • Homemade goodies from scratch 🙂

Eggs, tree nuts, and shellfish are also clean and nutritious, but I leave them off my list due to my allergies. I also want to note that these lists are just suggestions of what I try to adhere to. (I certainly don’t do it perfectly.) Hopefully you find these guidelines helpful!

 

Leave a Reply

